Orange lipsticks off the highstreet

When orange lips first became popular I was a bit like I don’t think so, and now I take my statement back I am sorry and I am completely obsessed with orange lips. There’s just something about the orange lip it’s like the eccentric sister of the classic red that sometimes can seem bolder, or sometimes can seem softer. Orange is uplifting and it brings the skin to life automatically adding a golden hue that suggests that you’re just glowing from within. Even though, the orange lip has sometimes been accused of making the teeth look yellow I think it’s forgivable, and there are ways to work around it- you wear the orange lip the orange lip isn’t made to cater to you- especially now with summer acting slightly shy I think there’s no better way of encouragement than adorning the lips with a pop of orange. So, over with my ode to orange lips and on to the line up.  Now none of these are “I’m easy my way out of my comfort zone one step at a time” no these are the wham-bam-thank-you-mam of of bold orange lips.

We’ll first start off with the one that is pretty much straight up orange which is Revlon’s “Kiss me coral”. What I love about having this lipstick in my collection is that not only is it straight up orange but it is actually so versatile. Other than wearing it straight out the bullet, I love to wear this as a stain, or I like to blot it to give it a more matte finish with a dab of powder, or even make it more luscious than it already is by adding a juicy gloss on top. If you’re thinking “well you can do that with any lipstick” well, you hold your judgments because this lipstick is a bit of a chameleon, add a red lip liner underneath and you’ve got yourself a red-orange lip with fierce undertones. Now, I don’t know if this is true as I don’t own of the following, but rumour has it that this lipstick is the in between colour of MAC Morange and Lady Danger, so perhaps with it morphing powers I just told you about you could pretty much have both (with the aid of a lip liner) at half the price. Killing three birds with one stone.

Revlon 750 "Kiss me Coral", Rimmel 214 "Firecracker" & Topshop "Rio Rio"

Revlon 750 “Kiss me Coral”, Rimmel 214 “Firecracker” & Topshop “Rio Rio”

Next, we have the lovely Rimmel “firecracker”. This colour is a softer orange with strong pink undertones that reminds me of the inside of a grapefruit. Now, I’m not going to lie, sometimes, I find this colour hard to wear, sometimes my skin automatically rejects this colour, and I sadly take it off. However, don’t be put off especially you girls with cool/pink undertone skin as this could be your one step to an orange lip, if you’re struggling. Anyway, the days that my skin rejects this colour are few and far between and some of the time I force it to work with my perseverance, I blend some onto my cheeks so, I have a bit of complimentary-complimentary matchy-matchiness going on that even my olive skin tone can’t overthrow.

Left to Right: Revlon 750 "Kiss me Coral", Rimmel 214 "Firecracker" & Topshop "Rio Rio"

Left to Right: Revlon 750 “Kiss me Coral”, Rimmel 214 “Firecracker” & Topshop “Rio Rio”

Last, but by no means least is perhaps the lipstick that some may argue is not even orange, but I think it’s orange alright? This lipstick is Topshop’s Rio Rio. This is an orange lipstick that is loaded with hot and slightly neon red undertones. I personally think this one’s a bit of an all year round wearer because in the summer you can be like I’m showing my support for the sun, and in the autumn you can be like I’m mourning the beautiful death of all the green leaves that blossomed this year. Yeah, I’m really feeling at one with nature today. Anyway, this lipstick is pigmented just as much as the previous two, but this one has a satin finish. This lipstick also really compliments warm toned, olive toned, or tanned skin it just makes you an empowered woman that demands attention and is brimming to the edge with ferocity.

So, anyway that was my fill on the orange lipsticks that you can find on the highstreet. If you’re wondering on how to wear such bright lips I would say lashings of mascara (maybe top liner), polished skin, and a nice framing of bronzer along the perimeters of the face. So will dare to go bright orange or will you be keeping it a calm coral, or not even going close to the colour at all?

If you haven’t already why not follow me on bloglovin’ & twitter, or you could just subscribe to me on wordpress your choice!

3 thoughts on “Orange lipsticks off the highstreet

Leave a Reply

