Farewell to a friend

Today, I met up with one of my friends who I know I will probably not see again for a long time. The end of uni also marks a significant moment in many friendships and whether they’ll survive time and in some cases distance. For me and my twin (what I call my friend because we are very alike in some ways) Manchester has been the root and heart of our friendship but it’s a place where we can’t stay because our academic life is over. It’s probably one of the hardest aspects of finishing university for me because to me it feels like these people that you’ve always seen in that context you won’t see anymore because everyone just goes thier own way. It’s like a huge dispersal of so much hope and anxiety packed into every single student as life and work will take over and student freedom will become something of many moons ago that we’ll reminisce on. I know technology makes its really easy to stay in contact with people but sometimes you just want that person to be there.

I wish I had phlogged today better but it came to me as an after thought on my way home so, these are the pictures I took.

image

image

image

image

Some of these pictures probably don’t make sense I mean I’m sure no one wants to see a parking and the backs of buildings. But, I just like how in this picture the car park is full and the buildings are crammed together, because they just contrast against the comfortably spaced out clouds in the sky.

image

image

We didn’t really do much we just went to eat and sat on the grass. I always think the best friendships are those where you can do anything, everything or nothing, and still have the best time.

image

image

I really had to put on a brave face at the end in the train station. I said “see you soon” to which my friend replied “not really” – always one to yank me down back to reality whilst on the verge of a emotional breakdown: a true friend.

2 thoughts on “Farewell to a friend

Leave a Reply

